top of page

Q&A with Gemma Adams | Blackbird Goods


This week we chat with the lovely interior stylist Gemma Adams about her store; Blackbird Goods, upcoming trends and more! Gemma and her husband Nathan migrated back to Nathan's hometown of the Hawkes Bay in 2014 wanting a slower pace of life. They opened 25 Dalton Street in Spring 2015 with little on their shelves but hearts on their sleeves, now providing the Hawkes Bay with ethically sourced goods of the utmost quality. Cooper Interiors especially adores the treasures ready to be discovered in their 'found' section online.



Hi Gemma, thanks so much for joining us! Can you tell us a little bit about 'Blackbird Goods' and why you started it?

Thanks so much for having me! So, Blackbird Goods started as what we saw as a gap in the market here, that, as the husbands love for a good bricks and mortar, and mine for having a physical space to play shop in. We opened doors in September of 2015 with little on our shelves, but a dream of bringing high quality, well made, beautiful and ethical goods to the Hawkes Bay.

What inspires your interiors style?

As cliche as it sounds, nature and travel really are key. There is nothing like getting out of your ordinary to freshen the senses and get those creative juices a-flowing.


How has your style evolved through creating Blackbird Goods?

Funnily enough, for owning a homewares store, I think I have become more deliberate and more minimal in my approach. That's not to say our own home is spartan, but perhaps more intentional.

Can you tell us about some of your favourite products?

I am an absolute sucker for a kimono, and we just got these made on our recent trip to Bali, the tailor we worked with the make them is second to none, a real sweetheart! Curio Noir was a brand that I just had to have in store, I believe it really embodies our ethos, plus every thing Tiffany touches is gold, but her latest parfum Puroto Rose is my new fave. Tokatea Clayworks is a local potter, and I just cant get enough of everything he makes, my husband just bought me the most amazing piece for our 8 year anniversary, and I drink from these beauties most mornings. The best way to start the day. My Amelia Boland bag goes everywhere with me, a total hold all and the best quality, plus all made in Wellington!





What do customers love most about visiting your store?

They often comment on the smell and the serenity, with the Curio Noir range, and the beeswax candles it really smells heavenly, and even in the busy seasons we try and keep a sense of calm, allowing customers to take in the objects rather than feel bombarded to buy.

What trends do you see emerging this season?

I feel like we are being influenced by the 90's and 00's, a decade we didn't think we would go back to interior wise, but with the rise of modern takes on old school ideas we are able to see them in a new light, and they really quite beautiful! The likes of Mark Antonia and her dried flowers, and Douglas and Bec and their new arc range, I think its safe to say that the cane thatch is back in style! I am also all about those textural walls of Venetian plaster or look a likes. Colour wise I think we are containing to embrace neutrals, but with a softer more putty tone apposed to a once stark white, greens of all shades, and of course I don't think pink is going anywhere fast!


Are any of your products sourced internationally?

A lot of our stock is not only NZ made, but also local to the Hawkes Bay, we love the idea of supporting local and national makers and putting back into our community and country, as well as building relationships with makers from across the seas.

How would you describe New Zealand's interior design culture?

For a little island at the ends of the earth I feel we stand pretty strong! I think we are beginning to feel our own sense of style, that's not just the "kiwi bach" style, but is strong and modern but also incorporative of our past and our melting pot country, which I think lends itself to some exciting ideas!

What does your home look like? Is your work space similar?

At the moment our home looks a little like a construction site, we moved just prior to our daughter Margot being born, and renovations have been a little slow since! So for now we are half way there, and my work space is a little room out the back that I share with Margots things!


And finally, what is your favourite part of living in New Zealand?

From years living overseas I don't think I will ever get over how delicious, fresh, and readily available our produce is, that and you can travel from the city to the mountains to the beach all in one day.

All imagery is credited to Blackbird Goods and Photographer Heather Liddell. To shop Gemma & Nathan's beautiful store please visit their website here. You can also follow their Instagram here.


bottom of page