top of page

Q&A with Georgina Skinner | Print by George


Georgina Skinner is a multi-talented photographer, entrepreneur, homewares enthusiast and all round creative genius! Originally from England, Georgina now lives on the remote west coast of the South Island of New Zealand, managing many different creative projects including her photography and print business, Print by George. This week we discuss the challenges Georgina's faced as a creative, why she first picked up a camera and of course, her take on New Zealand's art and design culture. Cooper Interiors especially loves the simplicity and atmosphere in each and every photograph. We can imagine her works printed large for a striking entry piece or small for a lovely yet subtle addition to your bedside table.


Can you tell us a bit about your background?

Growing up in England, mum was really into interior design and the creative one in our family. On every family holiday she had the film camera with her capturing family moments, but it wasn’t long until I was picking up the camera too. We had endless amounts of family photo albums and I used to get them out on the regular thinking how amazing it was to be able to look back on everything we ever did! As soon as Photography was introduced as a subject at school when I was around 14/15 years old, I looked at doing it more seriously and by the time I was finishing school, I had applied to take up Photography as a degree course. This was where it became serious for me. I was doing Commercial photography and was learning how you could earn a living from doing what you love.


What is your favourite photograph you've ever taken and why?

Favourite photograph….(quickly scrolls through website!!) When I think of my favourite, there are a couple. One being a fave because it has had that exciting moment of taking it and knowing that you ‘got that shot’ (1) and then there is a favourite because it earned you the most acknowledgment and income (2)! Also there are the favourite ones that you shot because you just had a happy morning shooting and went out purely because taking photos make you happy (3).

Which part of your creative career has been most challenging and how did you overcome this challenge?

I think trying to get your name out there and recognised. The creative industry is a hard one. This is where Instagram has been a dream in helping with that, but even that is full time and definitely faces neglect often now that I have other projects on the go. I would also say trying to get the confidence to talk about your work without trying to feel like you are forcing a sale on to someone. You have to be proud of what you do and when you hit that moment, its a wonderful feeling. You have to remember to celebrate all your achievements. Make a big deal of the small things.


Do you currently have plans for any future collections in the works?

I am starting to think about where I want to take Print By George this year. With Gigi Goods & Co taking up 80% of the last year and then our farmstay Cowshed 488 renovations which I have project managed and designed has taken up all of the beginning of this year, Print By George has been completely cast aside. I am actually just getting excited to get back to working on some new pieces and refreshing the collection.

What does your studio or work place look like?

My work place is in the process of being relocated… Currently I am working out of our front room at our house which has been incredible as the views certainly couldn’t be better of the farm. However I feel that I am getting to the end of my productivity here and I need a little change. We are renovating a farmstay on the farm at the moment and there is an outside room space available which is soon to be my office. I cannot wait! It is going to be nice to change things up and be able to step out of my house for work. Being able to technically leave the office at 6 and jump the fence home to cook dinner and switch off for a few hours will be the fresh change that I need. Also we get our front room back!


How would you describe New Zealand's art & design culture?

There is such a mixture of creatives and styles here and it is far less saturated compared to the UK. It was a nice change for me moving here to see something different. However because I am on the coast, I do miss being able to visit an art gallery on a regular basis. Pop art was a big influence on me when I first got into art and photography and I miss seeing the shows from those worldwide greats such as Warhol, Lichtenstein and Slim Aarons. New Zealand graphic design is some of my favourite however! I love the clean fresh look that you guys are just so good at!

And finally, Who is your favourite NZ creative and why?

Oooooh HARD ONE! I absolutely love Grahame Sydney’s painting works. I have his book out all the time! Then as a total contrast, I love the work of boys at George & Willy. They are so clever in producing such high quality everyday items that you don’t actually need, but you MUST have!


All imagery is credited to photographer, Georgina Skinner. You can scroll through her beautiful Instagram feed here, like her Facebook page here, and purchase Prints by George here.


bottom of page