top of page

Q&A with Kim Richards | Asante Homewares


After spending about 20 years in the corporate world, Kim Richards created Asante Homeware, a business born from her love of Africa. Her journey now sees her working with talented artisans in Africa who handcraft incredibly beautiful products. With each product purchased you are directly impacting the livelihoods of the artisans who create these works plus their families and communities. Kim helps to sustain craft and tradition while bringing unique products to the New Zealand market. I absolutely love her eye for styling and can't wait to see what the future holds for her business!


Can you tell us a little bit about Asante Homeware?

I started Asante Homeware, after a lot of soul searching when I decided I did not want to spend the next 20+ years in the corporate world. The idea eventually came from my love of Africa, beautiful homewares and a desire to do something more meaningful with my life.

All of my products are handcrafted by artisans in Africa. Many of the artisans actually make the products at home between daily chores, looking after children and the household. I work with organisations where there is a commitment to fair wages, empowerment and development of the artisans. They all share the same passion to create jobs, increase local incomes, and preserves ancient cultural traditions that in many places are at risk of being lost.

With many of the suppliers I have the opportunity to have input into the designs of the products. I’ve done a little bit of this in these early stages, but will definitely do more as the business grows. All the products are made from locally sourced materials and are ethically produced.

The word Asante is a Swahili word meaning “thank you”. I wanted to have an African name for the business and I also wanted it to reflect what the business is about – it’s about being grateful to the amazing people who create these beautiful products, as well as the customers who buy them.


Have you always been creative?

I’ve always liked to think of myself as creative from a young age. When I left school, I studied graphic design and then worked in an advertising agency for a short period of time. Unfortunately, when I did my oe in my early 20’s and lived in London, I ended up moving away from this career path. Having said that, outside of work for the last 20 odd years, I’ve continued to nurture that creative streak in painting, photography and when I brought my first home I loved nothing more than pottering around either making things, up cycling or redecorating my home. I love anything that involves using my hands to create something. When I decided to leave the corporate world, it was definitely important to me to do something that had a creative element to it.

Where do you draw inspiration from?

Almost anywhere to be honest. When I’m painting or taking photographs, which is probably not as often as I would like, I definitely draw inspiration from nature. I love to travel so exploring new places and cultures is a big inspiration for me. When it comes to other areas of my life and in particular my work, inspiration can be anywhere, books, magazines, and of course multiple sources on the internet.


Why do you think it is so important for New Zealanders to ethically source products?

There are so many cheap, mass produced products in New Zealand (and all over the world) which makes it easy for us to buy something that is on trend this season, but then it gets binned the following season for the next latest trend. I believe if you invest in ethically produced or handmade products, you’re likely to value it a lot more and keep it in your home much longer, given the meaning behind it and the amount of work and love that has gone into creating it. These products are far more sustainable and they are unique, as no one product will ever be exactly the same as another.

The benefits of buying ethically are far-reaching both socially and environmentally. You can actually make a difference in the world by choosing the way you spend your money. Each bit helps. I believe that people are definitely starting to live more consciously and in turn making better decisions when it comes to all areas of their lives, including their homes.



How would you describe New Zealand's interiors culture?

I must admit that I’m new working in the “interiors world” in New Zealand, so my view is more as a consumer. Prior to starting up my business, I saw a lot of Scandi and Indonesian (Balinese) influence in the interiors and homewares space, hence by desire to bring something a bit different to New Zealand. New Zealand is very ethnic diversity so it’s great to see influence coming from all over the world.

And finally, what would your dream home look like?

Ohhh my dream home…I would love a home that has influences from the Swahili East African coast architecture (think Zanzibar and Lamu) along with elements of an Africa safari lodge. Beautiful open spaces, high ceilings, white washed walls, concrete floors, timber beams in the ceiling, lots of neutral colours and beautiful textures. I would love to have an outdoor space with a thatched roof and big comfy couches, and open fire. Oh, and a view of the ocean would be perfect!


All styling & photography is credited to Kim Richards. You can shop Asante Homewares online here and follow Kim's creative journey on Instagram here.


bottom of page