top of page

Q&A with Laine Toia | Bespoke Weaving


Lovely readers, meet Laine Toia (previously introduced here). Drawing inspiration from Mother Nature, Laine handcrafts stunning woven wall hangings for spaces throughout New Zealand and abroad, all while paying tribute to her Maori ancestry. Her creations have been sold in the well-known Auckland home interiors store Indie Home Collective, featured in Your Home & Garden magazine and she's even taught 'Loom Weaving' classes at the prestigious Whitecliffe Arts and Design College. This week we discuss how Laine learnt to weave, creative block and much more!

"Each unique piece is lovingly handwoven using traditional Maori methods, influenced by modern design."


Can you tell us a little bit about your background, have you always been creative?

Well, I didn’t realise I was considered creative until I got a little older. I grew up always making things from the natural elements, being in touch and in awe of the gifts that mother nature has given us, making windchimes from shells, art with sand and driftwood. I remember being taught at the young age of 7 to make dreamcatchers by my older sister, we just grew up that way. I was living in Auckland, working full time in the interior design scene and found myself craving the artistic side in my personal life, from then on every Monday was called “Craft Monday” and my aim was to create something every Monday. From there my weaving fire was ignited.


When did you start weaving as a medium and how did you learn this art form?

I come from a long line of weavers who made functional baskets and fishing nets for everyday life. I feel that I am honouring my ancestors in a sense. I know that my great grandmother, Apikaira was an amazing weaver who was taught by her mother. My grandmother Maria, was left-handed and wasn't allowed to weave because it would always be crooked, so she was in charge of the plant gathering and prep. So I love how being left handed myself, I am able to use my hands to weave 'not so “crooked” pieces of art and change the old school thinking of lefties being “wrong”. I learnt how to weave as a young girl on our Marae in the Hokianga.

Where do you draw inspiration from?

I draw inspiration from Mother Nature, in all of her beautiful shapes and forms. I believe this is influenced by the way I was brought up. Watching my mother fall in love with the forest, ocean and sand dunes cemented that fascination for me too. I like to focus on the emotions each element provokes.



What is the most challenging part of your creative process and how do you overcome this?

Well I think a creative block in pretty darn annoying. Usually, when I weave it's fairly meditative and intuitive and it all just flows beautifully BUT sometimes when I weave, I overthink the process, and the final vision. When that happens, I have to walk away and play “hard to get” as if I'm tricking myself that im not upset that my fingers are unsure what to weave. Then after a few days it all comes to me and the ball is rolling again.


And finally, what would your dream home look like?

Oooo tricky question, as silly as it sounds I find it hard to pinpoint my exact utopia. So many styles arouse me, as long as they're well executed. At the end of the day, my dream home is somewhere I live where im in love with my life, living with whom I love.

All imagery is credited to Tyla Kvalsvig. You can purchase a Bespoke Weaving creation here and follow her journey on Instagram here.


bottom of page