top of page

Q&A with Nicola Mossman | Real World NZ


This week we chat to Nicola Mossman, founder and director of the ever-growing brand Real World NZ. Nicola creates gentle, natural, plant based products that otherwise contain harsh chemicals and damage the skin. Her strong stance on environmental issues and looking after your body have proven incredibly popular. Real World NZ comes highly recommended all over the world and are one of the few brands that don't test their products on animals. Cooper Interiors loves the luxurious range of natural bath salts available online and through selected stockists.


Nicola, thank you for joining us! Can you tell us a little bit about 'Real World' how you started it?

Thanks for having me! We starting by launching a website in September 2016. Selling direct to customers and also wholesaling to carefully selected retailers that shared a similar philosophy. My hands used to get so dry and damaged. I had damage especially around the nail area and often cracks would appear in my skin and they would get really deep and become really painful. I thought that if I developed an all natural plant based dishwashing liquid it would be kinder, gentler on my hard working hands and my sore hands would be a thing of the past. Naturally this lead to a range of complimentary hand care product range to give all round support.

My aim is to provide New Zealanders and people all over the world with a quality range of products specifically for your hands and body. Handcrafted in Hawke's Bay, New Zealand, with more of the good and none of the bad. As a mother to Hugo (10), George (8), Freddie (7) and Molly (3) I am really conscious about what goes on their skin. I know that when they wash their hands with Real World Hand Wash or have a bubble bath filled with Real World Bath Foam, its gentle, pure and safe on their very precious skin.


What are your favourite parts of living in NZ?

I've lived in different areas of the country but choose to live now in Havelock North, New Zealand. The climate is wonderful and there is a really great feeling about living here. It's only an hours flight from Auckland and I have been travelling up there a lot recently. It's great to be able to get that city fix but then come back home to the great lifestyle the Hawkes Bay has to offer, especially when you have children.

Is there a story behind the name of your brand?

As we carefully hand select the ingredients that are all plant based it is really important to us that our products contain NO parabens and NO Sodium Laurel Sulphate. It's all about real ingredients, ones that have not been messed with therefore you know that the products are safe for you and your entire family to use on a daily basis. My husband came up with the name and I think it works really well with selling Real products to the world.


If you had to describe your brand in three words what would they be? Real, Simple and Honest.

What is your favourite product to use? I must say it is a hard choice as I use most of the products on a daily basis. The one product that has changed my life is the Dishwashing Liquid. It cured my damaged hands and in doing this it has made my day to day life so much easier. No more sore cracked fingers and this is all down to the Real World Dishwashing Liquid. It also looks fabulous on our kitchen bench and makes the mundane task of cleaning dishes more enjoyable.


What inspires you?

My family, everyday. That is what gets me out of bed in the morning and into the office for the days work. I'm also inspired by great design and creating an environment in our home that makes it feel homely and a sanctuary to relax, love and live!

What does your studio or work place look like?

It is currently full of shelves full of Real World products. Two work desks, two work benches. One has the label machine attached to it and it is where we label all the products. We are fast running out of space so hope to be moving into a bigger space in the not to distant future.


How would you describe New Zealand's Art and Design culture?

I think we have such a unique point of difference being tucked down here and being so isolated.

Who is your favourite New Zealand creative and why?

David Trubridge. I love all of his design. I love the materials he uses in making his lights and the design is so New Zealand. He has put NZ on the world design stage and it is fantastic it is all made down the road from us. I've had the opportunity to sit down and interview him and he was very inspiring and very passionate about New Zealand and the environment.


What is the best piece of advice you've ever been given?

Trust your gut and surround yourself with people that inspire you daily to do better.

And finally, do you have any advice for young New Zealand creatives?

Do what inspires you and what you love. It then never feels like you are working.


Photography by: Heather Liddell and Nicola Mossman | Styling by Gem Adams and Nicola Mossman. To shop and find out more about Nicola's all natural products, visit realworldnz.com. You can also follow Real World NZ on Instagram here.


bottom of page