top of page

Q&A with Susan Christie | Formantics


"Formantics is an online design store run by Susan Christie from her home studio on Auckland’s North Shore. What makes formantics unique, is that ability to walk the line between art and design, while producing quality, handcrafted items of distinction. The brand is all about curating bold, vibrant elements for the home which have a playful edge. The name of the business came about by combining the words form with antics. These are two vital ingredients for all of the work produced: including original paintings, prints, ceramics and shelves. Susan is all about curating art and object to create interior spaces with personality!"


What is a typical 'day in the life of' Susan like?

Every day is different which is why I love doing what I do. There are however a few fundamentals which stay the same. First meeting of the day is with my coffee machine!!….. an absolute must to kick start the day! Then it is making the kids lunches and getting them off to school. I normally get into my studio around 9. Travel time is nil as it is only few paces from the kitchen to my lovely sunny studio. I always feel quite energised walking into my studio which is filled with my paintings and ceramic works in progress. Anyone else would see a complete mess … but I potential.

Before I can begin creating for the day the first job is always to dispatch orders from my online shop. Getting my products to people quickly is very important to me. I know myself, when I order online I want the stuff NOW.

The rest of the day will vary between being creative and dropping off orders to my retailers. My favourite days are when the hours stretch in front of me and I can paint or make ceramics. While I work, I often listen to podcasts. I am currently listening to The Clever Pod Cast series hosted by Jaime Derringer of Design Milk and Amy Devers. It is a podcast all about designers. My favourite episode so far is when they interview NZ base designer David Trubridge. He has such great design philosophy and is so inspiring!


When did you start 'Formantics' and what gave you the inspiration to start?

I was inspired to start an art and design business following my graduating show when my work was featured in Homestyle magazine. I graduated from Auckland University of Technology with a bachelor of Visual Arts and I spent the beginning of 2016 designing a range of prints, ceramics and shelves. By September of that year I was ready to launch! My dream was to make a living doing what I love. So far, it’s working out pretty well.

Returning to University was not an easy decision given I had a young family to manage. I did worry about how I would fit in being an “old girl” at university, whether I would be edgy enough. Not to mention how on earth I would juggle the kids and all their after-school activities! As it turns out I had nothing to worry about. I loved every minute of it (oh …accept the essay writing that is) and because we mothers learn to juggle so many things, I could complete assignments in half the time the school leavers could. The highlights of the experience were getting the AUT painting award in my first year and being selected for the Eden Art Awards in my last year. Yay, felt so good!


Do you have any advice for those looking for a huge career change?

I don’t think it is unusual to have a number of career changes these days. My work history is pretty hectic! I was a Navy Officer, then Psychologist, then mother, then business consultant, then visual arts graduate and finally a creative business owner. I would encourage people to make the change to do what they love but recognise it may not come about overnight. For many of us we have to juggle families and working a job to pay the bills, while at the same time pursuing the thing that makes our tail wag! My advice would be to make a start part-time and then hopefully it turns into a full time gig!


What do you find to be the challenges and advantages of working from home?

The main challenge of working from home is being on your own. I don’t suffer from lack of motivation but it would be great to bounce ideas around with someone. In the future, my husband is keen to give up his job and start working with me, which I would absolutely love. I think we would make a great team and he could do all the stink sales and admin jobs while I got on with the creating. Ha Ha.

To counter the issue of working alone, I am slowing building a network of local creatives so that we can support each other and provide the vital critique to ensure out practices continue to develop. It’s fun to share ideas and provide technical advice too.

The biggest advantage of working from home is the flexibility to work around family. My first priority is always the kids and it’s great to be there for them to help with homework, sports or whatever challenges are happening for them as teenagers. However, one day they will be gone and I will have built up a business that I will be able to take to the next level.


Who is your favourite NZ creative and why?

My favourite design personality in NZ is Alex Fulton, “the queen of colour”. She is an absolute inspiration with her zest for life and vibrant colour choices. She is an interior designer, painter, writer, shop owner, and the only one I know who can pull off a bright pink kitchen! That kitchen also happens to have a formantics art print in it. She is bold, brave and clearly has great taste!

How would you describe New Zealand's Art & Design culture? And what are your thoughts on how it is evolving?

At art school, I loved seeing what I call the cross contamination of inspiration between the traditional disciplines. Whilst I majored in painting, very few of us only painted. We revelled in blurring the boundaries between paint, photography, sculpture, craft, fashion and design. For example, it was not unusual for collaborations to occur between a fashion and the visual arts.

There is definelty a worldwide return to well-made hand-crafted objects as I think people are seeking authenticity of the handmade as an antidote to our technology driven lives. Ceramics are having a huge resurgence which is fantastic for formantics. I was recently asked to exhibit my ceramics at Paris Design Week which I am so excited about.


And finally, What would you dream studio look like and where would it be?

The same, just MUCH, MUCH bigger! I am so lucky to live in a beautiful 100-year-old Californian bungalow on Auckland’s North Shore. My studio is the original dining room and has a high stud, moulded ceilings and French doors leading out to a cute little deck. On one side of the studio I have my office and on the other side I have my painting and ceramic area workspaces. The room is affectionately called the ‘stoffice’ by my family. Basically it’s my happy place.


All imagery is credited to Susan Christie and Photographer Tash Hopkins (some of the imagery has been styled by Hayley French). For more information on where to buy Susan's beautiful creations, please visit formantics.co.nz.


bottom of page