top of page

Q&A with Timothy Jones | Artist


After spending years traveling the world working on yachts, Timothy Jones is now an accomplished artist based in Auckland, New Zealand. This week we get an insightful look into the talented artists background and sources of inspiration just in time for the launch of his new exhibition 'Storytelling'. The exhibition will take place in Ponsonby Central (Auckland) 9th - 15th of April. You can find all the details here!

"Painting has always taught me to look deeper, to observe the small details that can often be missed. My aim is to capture a moment using gestural marks and blended movements that invite the audience to take a closer look. My work is predominantly abstract, however, I also use imagery to raise questions about the human condition and our connection to nature. Engaging the viewer on a subliminal level is important to me, allowing them to contemplate and decide on what they are seeing."


When did you start using paint as a medium?

I have always painted, almost as long as I can remember. As a child it was simple doodles and drawings and that expanded into painting as a student. It feels as though I must have played with every medium there is from charcoal to spray paint. I guess the more serious use of paint began in Australia some 15 years ago and from then on it has been a serious journey into the possibilities of different mediums within the spectrum. I still love to paint in oils and sketch in pencil.

Do you have any favourite tools or methods you use when creating your artwork?

I use a combination of mediums in my large format abstract work. It is an ongoing process and there have been many, many hours experimenting with mediums to get where it is today. My tools range so much. I use brushes and trows, heat guns and hairdryers, squeegees and palette knives, anything I can get my hands on to manipulate the paint in an authentic fashion.


You previously worked on yachts and travelled the world, where was your favourite place you visited and why?

This is a question I am often asked, as I have been very fortunate to see so much of the world. Before working on yachts I spent much of my time travelling. I think it is probably the best thing you can do with your time on this planet. To see other cultures and natural wonders is the greatest adventure. I would have to say one of my favourite places is the Galapagos. As a nature lover it doesn’t get any better and you are given a glimpse of a time before human disruption. Everywhere you look you see wildlife and evidence of a truly amazing ecosystem working in harmony; it is beautiful to witness.

Other than traveling, where do you draw inspiration from?

The natural world is a huge inspiration for me, especially the ocean. As a diver I have spent a lot of time in the water and the expansive array of life in the ocean never ceases to amaze me. Water itself has a big influence on my creative process. You can observe that movement and fluidity in my work and the quest to capture life at an elemental level compels me to keep exploring with each new piece.



What is the highlight of your creative career so far?

I guess now is a highlight. Being able to create everyday and have my work grace many homes and spaces is a privilege. There is the business side of things that I am always improving on and opportunities arise in ways you never expected. I have had some notable triumphs along the way such as work in the Hilton Hotel and commissions from enterprises around the world. Really though, being able to explore creativity in new ways and being in a state of constant growth and adventure is the real highlight.

What is your favourite part of New Zealand's creative culture?

I think the raw and rugged landscape influences the arts in many ways. It is the subtle tones and distinguished light that is most noticeable in a New Zealand landscape and it is this that comes through in much of the work and the approach to art. There is a purposeful simplicity that is endorsed by many artists and I have noticed a shift in my own work to a more tonal palette.

And finally, what would your dream home look like?

Light. I need light in my life and I am all about open space. My ideal home would have clean lines and be minimalistic and bright. Lots of glass, timber, concrete floors and a design that opens to outdoor living and the sun. The main part of a dream home for me would be the surrounding environment. An expansive view or the proximity to the water is what would really be most important to me. To be able to start the day with a swim in the ocean or walk through the bush, that’s my dream.



All imagery is credited to Artist Timothy Jones. For more information on where to purchase his beautiful work, visit Tims website here. You can also Like him on Facebook here or follow him on Instagram here.


bottom of page